A fitting Video Card?

bengjo

Baseband Member
Hello

Let me first say that I have little to no knowledge on this matter.

So I need some help:

My computer: Packard Bell imedia S3810

Specs:
Prosessor: Intel Core i3 CPU 530 @ 2.93GHz
RAM: 6,00 GB
Graphic / Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT320

So I figured out I needed to improve the quality I run my games (specifically: Rift) on.

I looked around a little and found out that everything seems at the very least (?) decent, except for my graphic / video card.

As stated before: I have no knowledge on this matter. So I went ahead (kinda dumb I guess) and bought a new video card; Radeon HD 6850.

When I opened my computer, I found out that the card is too big. It physically does not fit.

So I'm wondering what I can do?:
- Do I have to buy a new card, and if so: which cards are good and can fit in my computer?
- Can I simply buy a new computer case, take everything out of my old computer and put it in the new one with bigger space?

I've got a lot of questions, and no knowledge (as you can tell big-time ).

Please help me?

Help is VERY much appreciated!

ALSO: If I've posted this in the wrong place, PLEASE forgive me.

- Benjamin

Hello, it is a very good chance that all you need to do is find a bigger case. However, that depends on the motherboard. You will need to find out whether or not it is an ATX, BTX or something else form factor. Then find a larger case that matches. However, you may have also forgotten to check if the power supply can handle that video card. AMD recommends a minimum of 500 Watt or greater power supply. (I recommend 650W or higher.)

I live in Norway and I'm afraid I got one of those "horrible" psu's, came with the comp. Any suggestions to a new PSU?

My main concern with that was, chances are it won't fit in any other case except the one it was designed for. Looks like you're looking at a New Case and PSU then.