choosing hardware

badabing1995

Beta member
hello everyone,
i'm Jarrad 15 years old and i have decided to build my own computer. i'm relatively new to actually being inside the case haha. to start off with i think i'm going to go with the NZXT H2 pc case since it's quite cheap and a good starter my goal is to have 4tb hard drive and 16gb of ram. so far for hardware i'm going with x4 1tb western digital hard drives, x4 4gb g.skill rip jaws and a revolution 85+ psu. what i need help with is pretty much picking everything else, if someone could help me out on what mother board i should get and what else would go with it.

sorry if i sound retarded i'm new to this i'm sure you will under stand, any help would be great :cool:

I would advise researching as much as you can about each part and how it all goes together work out your budget and what you really need and go from there 16g is alot of ram, probobly much more than you need and very expensive and you can always add ram and storage later on, the web has everything you need to know, youtube is great and ask questions on this forum if your not sure, good luck with the build

Hi There, welcome to the forum!

BTW - you don't sound retarded - But I think your best start is to evaluate what you want the computer to do, and how much you are willing to spend on it.

When you say:
my goal is to have 4tb hard drive and 16gb of ram.

That is the goal for the first build? or over a few years?

Ask yourself, are you really going to be using 4TB of storage / backup? What are you going to need 16GB of RAM to do, that 8GB wouldn't handle?
If you are putting that sort of hardware into a system, it only seems right to put a proccessor that will also deliver big power, so you could look at the new i7 2600k sandybridge, or the i7 processors. That coupled with a decent motherboard alone, you could be looking at least £450-£500 GBP ($700 USD).

Thats for just your Motherboard and CPU.