c or visual basic?

donmuz731

Solid State Member
I am new to programming and i need to write an application that will monitor my database and email any activities i.e editing, modifications, deleting and creation of new records and a daily summary. but the question is which of the above languages should i use?

C might have a steeper learning curve, but it's a lot more useful and stronger than VB. Not to mention that it's just a great langauge to know for background, VB doesn't get you that far in programming.

It's true that C is a more robust language but unless the OP wants to make a career of programming, VB should do the job for him and will be more productive in a shorter amount of time. I've been programming in C since 1984 and still use VB for quick and dirty stuff.

Problem with VB is you get into the habit of doing quick and dirty stuff too easily, and then find it difficult to change. C would be a better bet if you're more serious - but it's a very old language these days. Why are you just choosing between these two? Have you considered other languages? I'd suggest going with Java if you're a beginner (see my sticky for more info.)

I am new to programming and i need to write an application that will monitor my database and email any activities i.e editing, modifications, deleting and creation of new records and a daily summary. but the question is which of the above languages should i use?

Have you considered c++?

C is a more powerful language, but unless the OP wants to make career planning, C may have a steep learning curve, if you are new to programming, C has a steep learning curve than VB.

different strokes for different folks people.

if I wanted to write something that took some text file for example, analysed is and made a graphed result, I'd use C (have before will again)