Newbie here needs HELP!

a-bolt

Solid State Member
hey all, ive been lurking here a couple of days and there seems to be some good knowledgable people on here so i decided to see if someone maybe can help me.
here my system basics:
asus p5q3 mobo
vista 32 bit home premium edition
intel core2 quad q8400 @ 2.66 ghz
nvidia geforce gts 250 w/ 1 gig memory
4 gig ddr3 ram @ 1333 mhz
xion 700 watt psu
2 fans and liquid cooled cpu
bios is 2009 version( if this even matters)

heres my dilemma. computer runs fine while doing anything other that hardcore gaming. it will do anything till i go into L4D2 or battlefield BC2 then it shuts down and will automatically reboot itself. only takes about 5 or 10 mins and them reboots happens.

i have lcd disply for temps.cpu is running around 30 to 32 degress celsius before it shuts down. 32 is highest i have seen it. sys and hdd runs around 28 celsius while gaming. of course everything runs cooler than this when not under stress, but these are the highest i have seen them before shutdown. i dont think overheating i my issue but i could be wrong.

replaced cpuwith a borrowed one from a bud and got the same problem. hopefully that eliminates cpu from problem. i have updated latest driver version for graphics card to no avail. i saw on here someone mention burn in test so i DL that and ran it last nite, everything passed except i did get a fail because i didnt put media in dvd player. shouuld i run it again with media in, and would more info about BIT be helpful for u? also could old bios version be a problem, can i even update bios for mobo?

any and all help and input would be greatly appreciated. i miss my BFBC2 and L4D2 bad, pleae help. THANKS in advance.

From the temps your giving this is deffo not an overheating problem. did you say that the computer freezes and then reboots when you load the game or does this happen while playing the game for a while ?