If you know your stuff id like to know...

Joe4591

Beta member
Is this a good rig?

Asus Essentio CM1630-03 \ - AMD Athlon II X2 220 2.9Ghz, 4GB DDR3, 640GB HDD, DVDRW, Windows 7 Home Premium

with a N460GTX Cyclone 1GD5OC GeForce GTX 460 Video Card - 1GB GDDR5, PCI-Express 2.0, Dual-DVI, mini-HDMI, SLI-Ready, DirectX 11

Im new at this so let me know if this is good, and a generalization of what types of games i could play.

with only listing those two items, It's probably going to run most games at decent settings.

what else should i list? thats the processor, RAM, hard drive, and video card. Idk what else is important. :/

You listed pretty much everything. I think the person who replied basically quickly read your post, and read the first item in both paragraphs (thinking the stuff after it was just the specs of the first thing mentioned)

You COULD of put a bit more info in, (I.E. the type and timings of your DDR3 RAM, type / specs (RPM etc) of your HDD, how old the system is etc) but thats enough to say that the rig is fairly decent.

The processor is by far 'top end' in todays market, and is probably more 'low cost setup' than 'gaming beast' if im being honest. It does perform pretty well though, very quick scout on google says its roughly on par (slightly lower though) than an i3 processor. Being only dual core, might be a disadvantage, and I think its allready overclocked, so you probably wouldnt be able to improve performance that way. Video card is good enough for the job. You should be able to play most games (not the really intensive ones) at mid settings decently, or low settings well. The higher end games would have to be on low settings to get any gameplay. Depends what games you are playing though?

I think your board will probably support both AM2 and AM3 processors (I havent checked this though) if it does, could consider putting a newer generation AM3 chip in there, one of the Phenom range, for way better performance.

^^^^^^ Agreed.