Software Issue

Boatguy

Beta member
This is my first time to this site, so I hope I'm in the right place.

My system is a Dell XPS 400 and I'm running Microsoft XP Home Edition.

Problem: I tried to install an ACT 2007 (9.0) software and during the process of install a prompt came up stating “Microsoft Server 2005 Setup encountered a problem”. When the prompt came up I elected to continue with the install. At the end of the install, I was directed to register the product. During the registration another prompt came up. “The registration process has detected that Microsoft SQL 2005 Standard Edition is installed, but the current serial number prevents access. Uninstall Microsoft Server 2005 Standard and use disk 1 to reinstall ACT”.

I went to the Internet to learn how to uninstall Microsoft SQL 2005. The instructions told me to go to Add or Remove Programs and select Microsoft SQL 2005. This program is not available.

I'm at a loss. If you couldn't already tell, I barely know my way around the computer. I can get by, but if you have any advice for me you will need to be very clear. I appreciate any help you could offer.

Welcome to the site!

First, uninstall ACT 2007 from the Add/Remove programs Window.

Next, completely turn off your computer and unplug it to get everything out of RAM.

After about a minute, plug the computer back in and turn it back on.

Download and install CCleaner (Free edition is the links below the Buy table) and run the registry cleaner. Continue to run the registry cleaner until no problems are any longer detected.
- When prompted to make a backup of your registry, go ahead and do so each time. After making a backup, click "Fix All Selected"

Now turn off the computer once more and boot back up (no need to unplug).

Download and install Microsoft SQL Server 2005 Express Edition. (Third download down)

Now install ACT 2007 again and see if that works.