How to install a GPU on a motherboard that already has onboard?

~Darkseeker~

Fully Optimized
im pretty new to installing graphics cards, especially on PCs with onboards already. I know i have to turn the onboard 'off' but im not sure how. In the BIOS graphics options, i have 4 options.

GFX0-GPP-IGFX-PCI

GPP-GFX0-IGFX-PCI

PCI-GFXO-GPP-IGFX

IGFX-GFXO-GPP-PCI

the manual translates as the following

GFXO = Primary video controller on a PCI-e x16 slot

GPP = Primary video controller on a PCI-e x1 slot

IGFX = onboard video display output

PCI = Primary video controller on a PCI slot.

it also says that the default setting is 'GFX0-GPP-IGFX-PCI'

am i correct in assuming that i can just install the new gpu without changing this, since the GFX0 is already above the onboard in the priority chain?

Search for device manager in your search bar in start (7 and Vista), and open Device Manager. Now, your chipset is normally in display adapters, click that and your should see it (for example, mine says Radeon HD4250)

Right click the display adapter you wish to disable, choose disable.

Merry christmas also..

well its never a simple install is it, time for troubleshooting.

basically, i installed a new gpu (sapphire 5770) and a new psu (Coolermaster GX650). When i turned the computer on, i get the usual boot stuff, but nothing on the screen. I took the gpu and psu out and set up the system exactly as i had done before, but nothing on the screen again. I took out the memory to see if it was reaching POST and predictable it beeped like a maniac. So, it is booting but im seeing nothing on the screen. I tried resetting CMOS (removed and reseated the battery as well as clearing the jumper) and i also tried removing all peripherals except those neccessary to boot (only the boot hard drive and DVD/bluray disconnected. etc.)