Putting a new HD in a Raid1

hitmanwa

Baseband Member
I'm new to this so I hope you'll bear with me. I have a Fujitsu Esprimo Raid1. It currently has 2 hard drives in it. This particular system run 1 of our departments at work. Is it worth it to buy a couple of extra HDs and mirror them and keep them on hand? I went ahead and tried this and it didn't seem to work. It downgraded the primary HD and would not let me rebuild it so it would mirror the 2nd HD I put in there. It kept saying there wasn't enough free space. Could someone maybe point me in the right direction on this one?

Thanks in advance,

Are you speaking of making a backup RAID 1 array and then removing it from the system to put back in, if needed? Just add more disks to the RAID 1 array if that is what you are trying to accomplish. You can also have "hot spares" in your RAID array - Inactive drives until one fails.

There is only room for 2 HDs. My understanding is a Raid 1 is for mirroring only, right? Meaning both hard drives are redundant, right? So if the master fails or gets corrupted doesn't the other HD fail as well since it's always a mirror image? Should I have a spare HD or 2 that are mirrors from a previous time in case this happens?

Again, I'm new at this so forgive my ignorance.

No, if one hard drive failed, you'd still have a duplicate drive to boot from.
You'd just need to replace the drive with an identical matching model (I would), for it to start the array again.

It's just if 2 drives failed at once for some reason, that you'd lose all data.

I use RAID 1 myself, and have been backing up, since one hard drive has reported it is going to fail.

Ok, thanks.