Why I like using linux more then windows

dancingmadrb3

Baseband Member
I have been using linux for about 5 years now and despite its flaws I enjoy my experience on it overall.
I have used Windows in the past and have tried windows 7 but honestly I am not impressed.
Does it look fancy? Yes
Does it work better then Vista? Yes
But is it a good successor to say XP and even 2000? Both yes and no.
Sure its taking lessons in security from unix based systems and functionality wise its good but really there is nothing on Windows 7 that I feel the need to pay $130 for in store or even $99 online.
I can get a good amount of the same features windows 7 has in linux, and for far cheaper.
Linux has its limitations but i am willing to excuse them because well, its free.
But windows is becoming more limited as time comes, and to be honest microsoft software sucks unless its office in my opinion and i think open office does a good job on that front for the most part.
The only prize winner for microsoft is gaming, and some multimedia formats like blu ray but linux is not far behind on blu ray.
But gaming, I got a console for that.
So windows is practically useless for me.
Now I know many argue a case for windows but i think I can stand up for linux

I know what you mean. It's kind of unfortunate that linux isn't more popular in the business world as a workstation OS. I would be able to use it more if it were. I am pretty impressed with Windows 7, though.

I kind of like ubuntu. but it still has people making software that is kind of lacking everything. for example there really is no media player that is a do it all player like windows media player.

and I don't like the way my mouse works. I've tried all the settings it just doesn't move right. I have to move it all the way accross the mouse pad 3 times just to get it from one side of the screen to the other.