Looks to do some upgrades for my car

Legodude522

Daemon Poster
Looking to do some upgrades for my car

I have a Mazda 3 5 door. 2.5L. Everything is stock, only 3 months old. I'm wondering what kind of performance parts I can get for it. Any ideas? I'm not an expert on cars but I can pretty much do anything myself.

basic bolt ons are going to give you the best power for money.

Cold air intake, Header, cat-back exhaust.

This forum will probably have better answers specifically for your car. http://www.mazda3club.com/ Every car is different and they offer different things for different cars. Obviously the air intake is usually the first basic bolt on that can help some. Usually aftermarket intakes are not "cold air" as they do not go to the fender and pull cold air. For my car a guy on my forum makes a smaller crank pulley to add some performance.

I have never been a big fan of parts that increase HP so much as handling parts. Suspension, RSB, STB, wider wheels, etc. Only performance mod in my car is a modified stock intake. :p

http://www.nitrousexpress.com/product-details.php?id=1458

Easy, cheap, and great power...

Otherwise, underdrive pulleys, electric fan(if it doesn't have one stock), Cold air intake, headers... All those mods might net you 10-20hp. Lots of people and manufacturers will claim 20hp per mod, but it's all bullshit. I heard a kid the other day saying he wanted to put a CAI and tuner chip on his Mercury Couger V6. He said he would gain 70hp. HA.

Oh, and one thing that is easy power. Stickers. NOS stickers are worth like 20hp a piece.

Intake and exhaust are where you'll see the most HP gains, if you want an extra shot for a short period of time go with the nitrous as well.

Probably not legal to use while driving on the street, but you can have it. Offroad use only. And you can't inhale it either, lol, it has a very small amount of sulfur in it.