Camera Questions.

So my old camera has kicked the bucket (Me dropping it at the beach didnt help :|) and i got a decent tax return. So it gives me a good excuse to buy a new camera. I'm currently deciding wether or not to get an SLR.

The 2 SLR's im looking are the Canon EOS Kiss X3 500D Kit OR Nikon D5000 Kit
and i can get them for roughly the same price. I Dont know which one to get becuase i have never used an SLR Before.

One thing im worried about though,do these camera's have a fully automatic mode? On my old camera i loved using the manual mode (But it did only have Aperature,Shutter Speed and ISO) but sometimes i also was just happy using the auto mode and it would be nice to have the choice.

Saying that i have never used an SLR Before,would i be better off with just a bridge camera (A Camera that doesnt quite know wether its an SLR or a Point and shoot :D) like the Sony Cyber shot Hx1?

I personally prefer shooting with an SLR, but they can be a pain to lug around everywhere due to their size. I just take my pack and two lenses with me. For as much as you pay bor those bridge cameras, an SLR is a better value since it allows you to swap lenses to suit your needs. They both have full auto modes.

The one thing to watch out for with the Nikon is the lack of an autofocus motor. This means with older non AF-S or some aftermarket lenses you lose your autofocus.

The 500D has 9 focus points while the D5000 has 11.

The D5000 has a flip-up screen, which could be handy I imagine.

If I had to pick between the two, I'd pick the D5000, simply because it uses the same sensor in the D90. If you don't know, it's known for good high-ISO noise performance. Canon has been cranking the resolution in their sensors with each new camera, and that contributes to extra noise, which means lower image quality. That doesn't mean the Canon is a bad camera, you can still take great shots with it if you decide to go that route.