Should I overclock with EasyTune 6's Easy Boost?

Sanny

Solid State Member
Hey guys, I want to overclock my Processor so it can run calculations and processes faster, its an AMD Phenom 9950 X4 Black Edition, from what i've heard this is an excellent processor to overclock, my friend managed to overclock his somewhere beyond 4.7GHz which is quite fast. Mine runs at 2.6GHz.
I haven't had any experience in Overclocking and I have googled to see if EasyTune 6 was a reliable software for OC'ing but other people were saying you should do it with BIOS but I have no experience in tweaking with the BIOS :|
I'll upload some pictures of the specs on EasyTune and SpeedFan, to see if you guys think I should go ahead using EasyTune 6 for OC'ing.
iep6rq.jpg

of3gbs.jpg

vh46tf.jpg

10fs4tk.jpg

Should I do it or not :/ ?

Hey guys, I want to overclock my Processor so it can run calculations and processes faster, its an AMD Phenom 9950 X4 Black Edition, from what i've heard this is an excellent processor to overclock, my friend managed to overclock his somewhere beyond 4.7GHz which is quite fast. Mine runs at 2.6GHz.
I haven't had any experience in Overclocking and I have googled to see if EasyTune 6 was a reliable software for OC'ing but other people were saying you should do it with BIOS but I have no experience in tweaking with the BIOS :|
I'll upload some pictures of the specs on EasyTune and SpeedFan, to see if you guys think I should go ahead using EasyTune 6 for OC'ing.

An AMD Phenom 9950 X4 Black Edition running at 4.7Ghz!?!?! Great scott! Is he running it on LN2???

Cause even if its the very best air cooler I struggle to believe that your mate has it running more than 4.0Ghz let alone 4.7Ghz.

Anyways, to get a nice stable OC you really need to be doing it in the BIOS. So ditch the EasyTune and SpeedFan. Download CoreTemp and CPUZ. Study your Gigabyte motherboard BIOS and how to navigate around it. It really isn't that hard.