Is it okay to open up electronics as long as it is not connected to a power source?

TheNerdal

In Runtime
So I am a newb at electronics and stuff, I want to fix them up and stuff like that and I Was wondering if it is safe and okay to open up electronics as long as they aren't connected to a power source, thanks. :)

Yeah man.....givver.

All except computer monitors and tv's (I think) because they store power and can shock you even when they aren't plugged in.

No. Anything with large caps or HV transformers and the likes can retain large amounts of voltage for an extreme amount of time. I tried to extract the flyback from an old monitor that had been off for a year, and it still managed to throw a pretty good spark when I discharged it.

If you do not know what you are doing, it is bet to do a lot of research before you attempt to just pop it open. Never assume with this kind of thing.

Most of the time, yes. But make sure there are also no batteries, even backup batteries can harm the device and possible even give you a little shock. If you are going to be dealing with anything pricey, such as computers, you might want to keep static electricity in mind, and try to prevent it. It may not seem like a little static shock can do anything, but so many electric components in computers are very sensitive, so even if you don't feel it, the component might.