Help me spend $3800

payj

Solid State Member
This is how much I am willing to spend on a bad ass computer. I want to build it. I have a buddy that can put it together for me. First off I have no knowledge of computer components, but know what I need for the most part? Short of going to newegg and clicking on the high priced stuff and "assuming" it is the best I know nothing. I know more $ doesnt mean better, thats why Im here.

I will be using this computer for gaming and muti-tasking (music player open, 5-10 internet windows open, music downloading, maybe a game running, photoshop open). Idk I just don't want the thing to be slowed down!

At this budget suggest:

-CPU(s)
-Graphics Card(s)
-Motherboard
-Case
-Cooling
-CD drives etc.
-Power
-Computer Monitor
-Whatever else I'm missing.

Thank you for the input.....:)

Hi Payj,

Welcome to the forums. I'm in college now so Will not be able to get into details, but let me ask you this; are you willing to Overclock your computer or not? Or should I say does your buddy know how to do that? If so, instead of spending $500 on a CPU you can spend $200 and bring it up to the speed for a $500 one, make sense?

Are you looking for a single monitor or you want duel setup? Do you have any idea how big you want them to be? I have two 24" monitors and they work really good for me.

For the amount of money you willing to spend you can really build yourself an EPIC PC, I mean really good. Don't let anyone tell you otherwise.

If your friend is good with PC building, definitely go with water cooling!!! you can afford it. Get Crossfire/SLI going. After you get everything if you have money go for duel monitors, you will like it.

If I have time today when I get home il try to build you a PC from newegg, but I'm sure someone will post it b4 me.

Cheers.

UPDATE

"Reasonable" High-end Gaming PC:
$470 - Intel Core i7-930 CPU + Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R X58 ATX Motherboard Combo
$165 - Corsair CMX6GX3M3A1600C9 3 x 2GB DDR3 1600 RAM