I am a noob and I have an emergency

AnnihilationRob

Baseband Member
I'm sure there are hundreds of these posts so I apologize in advance.

I need quick help selecting components for an audio recording studio desktop. I intended to take my time learning all there is to know about building a pc before attempting it or bothering anyone with noobish questions, but the motherboard in my laptop, which was my primary recording pc, died yesterday and I am out of business until I can get a new comp. I'd still like to build one, and I have a decent idea of how I would like to start:

2.5 - 3 GHz (core i5 looks nice)
no idea for motherboard
4-8GB DDR3 RAM
nothing fancy for graphics
i don't need an audio card
no idea for power
500GB hard drive
a cool, well ventilated case
2 x eSATA, 2 x Firewire (800 is faster right?), 6-8 x USB
good disk drive for burning high quality audio CDs.
Windows 7

I am not interested in overclocking or any bells and whistles, I am just looking for a fast, stable pc with the above specs, optimized for handling large digital audio projects (30+ tracks of 24 bit 44.1K audio) with lots of RAM sucking plugins. Any help filling in the blanks would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Rob

what programs are you using? and what are you interfacing with? these things will help better understand your needs.

The high-end non-overclocking pc listed on **New Build Guide** looks good but the hard drive is too big and that graphics card is exessive:

CPU: Intel Core i5-750 Lynnfield 2.66GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1156 95W Quad-Core Processor
Motherboard: ASRock P55 Pro LGA 1156 Intel P55 ATX Intel Motherboard
RAM: CORSAIR XMS3 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory
GPU: ATi Radeon HD 5850 1GB GDDR5
PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro OCZ600MXSP 600W ATX12V V2.2 / EPS12V SLI Certified CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply
HDD: SAMSUNG Spinpoint F3 HD103SJ 1TB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive