Upgrade Suggestions

TCO

Solid State Member
I am a student with a very tight computer budget, and have managed to build a decent gaming rig for very little money. Unfortunately, I'm experiencing an increasing amount of FPS lag on newer games. I don't need to play everything on max settings, but I do want to keep my FPS above at least 15 at all times :rolleyes:. I usually get good deals by purchasing last generation's parts for cheap.

Here's my current system:
  • Video: NVIDIA GeForce 9600 GSO with 1GB Memory
  • CPU: Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHz with Hyper-Threading
  • Memory: 2GB DDR2
  • Motherboard: ECS 915P-A2
  • Hard Drive: HITACHI Deskstar P7K500 HDP725050GLA360
  • PSU: 500W OCZ StealthXStream OCZ500SXS

Obviously my processor is woefully outdated. What would be a good sub-$100 replacement (I'm not set in stone with Intel)? Also, should I consider upgrading my RAM (more or to DDR3) or video card?

tbh, the CPU will not improve your gaming a lot. I put my 9600 GSO in a P4 system and it only lost a couple frames compared to my Phenom II 955.

What games are you looking at playing, at which settings, and resolution?

I noticed significant choppiness when playing Mass Effect 2 at 1440x900 with all of the special video settings turned off (high quality bloom, film grain, motion blur, dynamic shadows, light environment shadows). Certainly it did not make the game unplayable, but it messed up some of the more graphically intense scenes and made me worry about playing future games.

I'm surprised at your assessment of my P4. From my understanding they were dinosaurs compared to dual and quad core processors. (I forgot to mention that it has HT support as well.)

Actually, your system is pretty well balanced performance-wise. No matter what you upgrade, everything else will be a bottleneck. A CPU upgrade might help in Mass effect 2, but not by a ton.

What motherboard do you have? We don't even know if a CPU upgrade is possible.