Weight Lifting

yo sniperviper,

Just to tell you, building muscle alone will not make you healthier. You need to incorporate toning, heavy weights, cardio, and flexibility.

It's my first year of college this year and I started off @ 185lb, 5'9, 26% body fat.

I dropped down to 162lb in about 3-4 months (dec of last year) and started eating more and weight training.

Now I'm around 170lb and 14% body fat.

For me, my goal is to get faster, more flexible and more cut rather than large.

For you: whats your current diet consist of? are you trying to simply bulk up or also lose fat?

yo sniperviper,

Just to tell you, building muscle alone will not make you healthier. You need to incorporate toning, heavy weights, cardio, and flexibility.

It's my first year of college this year and I started off @ 185lb, 5'9, 26% body fat.

I dropped down to 162lb in about 3-4 months (dec of last year) and started eating more and weight training.

Now I'm around 170lb and 14% body fat.

For me, my goal is to get faster, more flexible and more cut rather than large.

For you: whats your current diet consist of? are you trying to simply bulk up or also lose fat?
How the hell did you lose weight when you went to college??? lol

Good form, take breaks, pick a good routine. 3-4 days a week, and let muscles have a day or two to regrow. Switch things up also. Different types of lifts every couple months. Taking protein helps. Your muscles need protein to grow, and the type of protein in the powders is the best kind. I think it's also in dairy products.

Oh, and bodybuilding.com is REALLY GOOD. Really helpful there, I highly recommend signing up and asking the same thing there.

Oh, and finally, start out with a lot of pushups and pullups, do a lot of bodyweight exercises, they are the best.

How the hell did you lose weight when you went to college??? lol