Strange External HD Issue

Kahnwolf

Beta member
Hello all,

First time poster, i have a good amount of experience with computers, although this is my first custom desktop. I am by no means an expert in the field, have only been working with computers and networking for about a year now in depth.

Here is the issue I have been having: (both 1TB external HDs are external power source NOT USB powered.)

I have a 1TB WD MyBook External HD via USB, recently it has been connecting/disconnecting (interupting any file transfers or playback). So in an effort to try to discern if it was the usb connection i removed it from the enclosure and connected it to my desktop via SATA. It seemed to work at first, but soon enough playback would slow down almost to a halt (<10FPS on a movie)

Thinking this may be a good indicator the HD is going bad i proceeded to attempt to save my photos by moving them to my 300GB WD Velociraptor HD(10k RPM). However in the middle of transferring the computer reported an error copying a file, figuring it was just the HD being how it has been, i hit retry. A couple minutes later my whole computer froze up requiring a force restart.

Upon restart i found the Velociraptor was no longer registering with the system. I restarted the system once more only to hear the Velociraptor now "clicking".

After removing the Velociraptor and booting into windows in an effort to go online and begin some research, i found my network adaptor was no longer functioning and could not be automatically repaired. Lacking knowledge of what to do to attempt to fix it, i chose to do a fresh instal on my SSD. I am now back up and running with an old laptop 150GB HD and my 30GB SSD(runs my OS).

In an effort to recover the data on my external i purchased a new 1TB Seagate FreeAgent and tried to move some data over, however again the drive would disconnect and reconnect randomly! Could not even play through a 3min song!