Looking for ideas.

Rmp5s

In Runtime
I'm going to be building/buying a new PC in the next 1-2 months. First, what I plan to do with the thing/requirements:

I'm not a HUGE gamer, but I do play a fair bit of WoW (what a great time killer it is...lol) and would like to be ABLE to play games. right now I have a netbook so it'd be nice to at least have the option...cuz right now, I don't. (However...the little pocket rocket HP Mini 1020NR plays WoW quite well!) So...a 512mb - 1gig GPU is preferred.

I am a musician and need the thing to be able to run my recording software without issue. Therefore, I want 6-8 gigs of ram at least.

I'd like a TB of space, preferrably with RAID 5.

Then comes the processer...AMD vs Intel...ahhh yes...the ubiquitous "vs" scenario. I'm really torn. This is one of the main things I came here for...a bit of insight on this matter. I know AMD is cheaper and Intel is "better" (for simplicity's sake...just go with it...). This presents a big issue for me. I don't want to skimp on this machine. I'd love the new i7 but I don't know if I really need it. What are everyone's thoughts on this matter?

I'd also like a tv tuner card and it has to have HDMI for goin to my HDTV.

Also, I plan on sifting through the Build Guide when I get a min. Don't have time at the moment so I thought I'd throw this out real fast.

Open to any ideas, insights, thoughts, whatever from all of you!! Thanks!

I use Reaper with multiple Amplitube and EZDrummer VSTi plugins. Reasonably taxing, RAM heavy stuff...

Love Reaper 3 and it loves multi-threading CPU's. I've got EZ Drummer and Superior Drummer. You'd like Superior Drummer and the interface isn't that much more complicated.

I had to upgrade in October last year and after running AMD machines and after researching I went for an Intel i7 set up. I needed the extra resources that it offers. And i'm happy with it.