Need help overclocking my Phenom II X4 B50

culexor

Daemon Poster
I got my new CPU not too long ago and I've already tried a bit of overclocking with a bit of success, but I'd like to push it further with the help of some experts. I currently have a Phenom II X2 550 Black Edition that is unlocked to a quad (CPU-Z recognizes it as a Phenom II X4 B50). All 4 cores are running great, and the CPU has passed over 8 hours of Prime95 (overnight). My motherboard is a Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4P. I do have an aftermarket cooler (Xiggy S1283), so I should be able to push this thing pretty hard without worrying too much about heat. Currently it idles (at stock clock speeds) a bit below 39C, and gets up to about 47C running Prime95.

I've gotten it up to 3.7Ghz, but it wasn't at all stable. I raised the CPU voltage when I did it, but obviously not to the right voltage. I'm really new to overclocking, so I'm not sure exactly what affects what. My goal is about 3.8Ghz.

When I was @ 3.7Ghz, my FSB was at 200mhz, x18.5 multiplier, cpu at 1.5v, nortbridge at x11 (2200mhz) and everything else was stock.

So basically I'm asking, what should I set my bus speed, voltage, multiplier, etc. to, or how would I figure out what I need to set them to?

My CPU in it's current state (all stock)

(click for validation page)

I will give you these two guides to read:

http://computerforums.org/showthread.php?t=29837
http://computerforums.org/showthread.php?t=93738

I suggest you read them, but you don't have to. I think, together, they give you a good picture of what to do. You can skip the first one if you already know some strong basics. If you don't want to read them, just post back. I'm trying to see what people feel most comfortable with, so I apologize for not giving you a straight up answer in here. I will check back soon in case you want the short version.