Help understanding computers...

Katie2

Beta member
Hi, I'm new to computerforums and I have a somewhat weird question.

Can someone give me some illustrations or analogies that explains how computers work? (For instance, use car analogies, or sports analogies, be like, "increasing the RAM is like_____", or "Memory is like ____", ) More specifically:

Comparing different types of RAM
Comparing video cards
How much memory you would need for different types of work
Memory vs. storage
2 cores vs 4 cores...?

I'm trying to learn about computers, but I am a visual learner, and have trouble comprehending how fast computers are, or how much RAM you would need for X amount of work...nothing makes sense because I can't "see" how computers work, or differences between things, or compare proportions like in a chart. When I read something like: "4 processing cores; 4.8 GT/s QPI speed; 2.66GHz processor speed per core; 8MB Intel® Smart Cache", it makes my head spin. So basically I'm asking someone to explain something like that in plain english.

Thanks for reading...hopefully I will get helpful responses. I've read many articles I've found online, but nothing is making sense because I can't compare anything to something outside of the computer world.

P.S. If I am not posting in the correct forum, can someone tell me which one to post in?

RAM= Random Access Memory

More doesn't always equal better. This is what your computer stores your data in during bootup to retrieve later. Depending on what you're doing, 2GB is the sweet spot for everyday and 4GB for gamers. This is with Windows Vista and 7.

Storage is a place for data to be stored long term. Usually on a hard drive, flash drive, etc.