New laptop

Schmidt19891

Solid State Member
Hey all,

I'm due for a new laptop. I'm a sophomore in college, so I dont have oodles to spend, and would like to keep it under $800. I have a printer already that works great, so i'm not looking for any bundles or anything.

I watch a lot of movies on my laptop, and listen to A LOT of music. So audio is a pretty big thing for me. Despite the fact that I watch a lot of movies, i'm not really looking for anything with a huge screen. I think around 15" is perfect, thats what I have now and its perfect for me.

One of my majors is journalism, so I do a lot of typing, and an illuminated keyboard I think would be very cool.

One final feature i like is the camera built in. I did buy a camera, so it's not a massive priority, i just think it would be nice because my roommate from last year now lives in Tunisia (Africa) and I do talk to him a lot.

This isn't anything i'm in a hurry for, I was hoping to wait around winter break to get maybe a better deal or something.

Anyway, thanks so much for any help you guys can offer.

So my guess is that you don't really play computer games.

This means that the main focus would be on CPU, RAM, HDD and optical Drives.

There can be many notebooks with same specs but sold under different brand name so I'll post the recommended specs here:

CPU: 2.1GHz + (+ means go higher if you want)
RAM: 3-4 GB RAM (they would probably not post if it's DDR2 or DDR3 for non-gaming laptops near your budget).
GPU: Any integrated card would be fine for non-gaming purposes.
HDD: go for as much as you need 300GB+
Optical Drive: DVD drive

I've found this one for $700:
http://configure.dell.com/dellstore...ca&l=en&s=dhs&cs=cadhs1&kc=laptop-studio-1555

CPU: 2.1GHz + (+ means go higher if you want)
I think it is important to look at the type as well (not just the speed). Make sure it's a Core 2 duo or higher.