2 computers, 1 monitor and other things…help?

grace_slick

Beta member
Not sure if this is the right place to post this question, but here goes…

Hi everyone, I'm new here and just need a bit of advice and even some ultra basic step by step instructions on how to set this up…

I will be working from home for the next 2 weeks, and my office wants me to take home my work PC that I've been using here in the office for the past 3 years. It saves having to transfer everything over onto my own home PC and there's some sort of security issue too apparently.

In any case, I need to get a KMV switch so I can use my home PC and my work PC connected to my monitor, keyboard and mouse at home.

This bit I'm ok with, and I'm sure my work will pay for this switch.

What I'm not sure about are the following:-

1. If I get a KMV switch, where exactly does it plug in? I assume it is a USB type thing that plugs into my home PC, and then my work PC is also plugged into it. I've heard that apparently the work PC's monitor cable (not plugged into any monitor obviously) goes into the KMV switch also.

2. Am I able to use EVERYTHING that's connected to each PC? Meaning, when I'm switched over to my home PC, can I use every single thing that's connected to it? Even if some of them aren't USB connections? My printer and speakers aren't USB, and when I'm switched to my work PC, I need the printer also (connected to the home PC and not USB, as previously stated) as well as my dictaphone box pedal which is connected to the work PC and also not USB. Can these things be used ok, or can I only use things that are connected by USB?