Need help looking for an aftermarket CPU cooler

Now don't take my word for it, I'm not too experienced.
Wait until someone else confirms or gives proper numbers, but I think that is about right.
10 degrees Celsius is pretty big.

Yeah if it was 10degrees I might do it, but I could probably get a 5 degree drop from a $30 heatsink.

Temperature decrease is dependent on ambient temperatures, as well as hardware. You may see more temperature increase on an i7 rig than a Phenom II or vice versa. However, that temperature decrease could mean the difference in overclocking.

I'm not familiar with the heat output of a Phenom II, but that's the best heatsink on the market. The downside is that because of it's 100% copper construction, the thing is heavier than any heatsink should be so making your own extra support for the heatsink is strongly advised.

A couple of things about that heatsink:

1) You should consider lapping it. Thermalright's heatsinks are awesome, but their bases aren't so much.

2) The TRUE benefits from higher CFM/static pressure fans. Going with 38MM thick fans isn't a bad idea.

If you don't want to spend that much, the regular TRUE is a cheaper alternative.

I'm not familiar with the heat output of a Phenom II, but that's the best heatsink on the market. The downside is that because of it's 100% copper construction, the thing is heavier than any heatsink should be so making your own extra support for the heatsink is strongly advised.

A couple of things about that heatsink:

1) You should consider lapping it. Thermalright's heatsinks are awesome, but their bases aren't so much.

2) The TRUE benefits from higher CFM/static pressure fans. Going with 38MM thick fans isn't a bad idea.

If you don't want to spend that much, the regular TRUE is a cheaper alternative.

Eep, that thing is heavy.

Hm, how about something thats a bit... lighter?

So, I'm thinking I've made a decision:

TRUE black 120
with: