What Antivirus for the kid?

Juan handed

In Runtime
I just ordered a laptop for my friend's kid. 10 years old,first computer.

His parents wouldn't know micro-soft from micro-phone.So I'm taking on the responsibilities of setting his rig up (and probably maintaining it for a while).I'm Definately not the right guy for this,I'm a noob.

I ordered the same laptop as the kid's,it will be an upgrade for me.

When I get his computer,I will load the OS and programs on it.I know the kid will be surfing (on a cable modem) in no time. I need to think about antivirus and malware.I have had McAfee on my computer for a few years and have been OK as far as virus/malware goes,but the thing is a ponderous resource hog.I am going to go with Avast with my new one and take a more active role in managing the viruses and malware.

I think his computer is probably better off with a pay program antivirus for a while...no one will be there to keep an eye on things constantly.

What do you recommend he goes with for antivirus,malware? I don't need to be seeing his laptop every week.

Avast is very good. I can't say more than that, it has been rated higher on some things when it comes to active scanning and such. I use it and recommend it to all my customers and they love it, Why? They don't have to pay for it. Just because it's free doesn't mean it doesn't do a good job. Try it and see if you like it. I would recommend it over McAfee...

Yeah,I'm looking forward to running it for myself.

It's just with the kid's unit,something like McAfee does the scans on it's own on a weekly basis,updates itself constantly,etc.
It's a little much for him to be relied on to do scans and updates,whatever...it's his first computer,he'll have enough on his hands.

I'm starting to think something idiot-proof is the way it has to be for a while.

AVG and Avast are the 2 "big" Anti-Virus everybody recommends.

Usually Avast > AVG.

And gtfo, avast is free :)