Selling computers

LH-Danny

Baseband Member
Hi,

I'm a 16 year old male who has a massive interest in computers, Ive been using them for around 6 years now and know just about or had experience in all computer aspects. Then to top it all off I'm starting college next month doing a technical IT course which I'm looking forward to.

I've been thinking of building computers and selling them onto people who need them and to take it up as a hobby, the nearest computer shop is around 10 miles away in a busy city and they are the closest to me who will be doing the same kind of thing.

I have a few questions to ask:
would there be any disadvantages in doing this?
Will there be anything extra I should do? Eg do I have to register as a business?
What % should I put on top of the price to make abit of a profit?

Ps... Sorry for any bad grammer or spelling as I'm typing on a iPod touch

thank you for any help,
Danny.

I just wanna give you a little tip.
SEPARATE yourself from others, like Gateway, HP etc.
Don't do what they do.
What I mean is don't claim you can do a computer in one day, you can but quality over quantity.
Do a good job, clean the case when done, make it shiny.
If the case has a window, add an extra touch, throw in cathodes, free of charge.
Only $7 for them, but they can make a difference.
Try to make the inside tidy for them, hide their wires etc.

You won't be able to compete with the the big compaanies, they can sell pc's cheaper than you can build them for....trust me.

Instead of building and selling pc's, you should get into fixing them. People are always having problems with their pc's and they want someplace close where they can take their pc and get it fixed. You can make house calls too. That's where the money is.....fixing them.