Power surge?

gemguy1

Solid State Member
Hello,
There was a major power surge in my neighborhood. Unfortunately the surge protector wasn't enough (got a ups now). The result of me procrastinating was my computer got damaged. I got with my Homeowners insurance but they said in order for me to get reimburse for everything that was damaged. I would need some documentation. So I requested a diagnostic test from a computer company near by. Even though I know what the problems are. The only thing the computer shop tested was the mobo. They sad the mobo was fried and will be replace. So my question is:
What are the chances of the following components (cpu, gpu, ram, psu, and hdd) being stable if the mobo was fried from the power surge? I have some computer experience and I believe the percentage is low. This was my second build that I put together with no issues prior to this incident.

Thanks

I had a buddy of mines build have the same problem. Power spike blew out the MOBO, but his ram and CPU were fine. His graphics card died though, although it was an old model at the time and slight chance it was age that killed that. Oh, the power supply was also brutally murdered by the power spike.

Test your components in another system if you can!

I had a buddy of mines build have the same problem. Power spike blew out the MOBO, but his ram and CPU were fine. His graphics card died though, although it was an old model at the time and slight chance it was age that killed that. Oh, the power supply was also brutally murdered by the power spike.

Test your components in another system if you can!
That's why I took it to the computer shop. I don't have another computer to test it on. I did my on test and I know for sure the psu and gsu are bad. I believe I had an issue also with the ram. I know when you have a certain type of beep. That gives you a sign on what component is not working correctly.