Switch vs. Router

TitanMATRIX

In Runtime
Hey,

I'm still learning all of this as I'm teaching myself networking. I'm having trouble differentiating a switch and a router so let me see if I got this straight...

Routers are used to take in information and forward it to a specific IP while a switch simply passes along information arbitrarily. Which would explain why on my home's wirless router, up to 4 computers can be connected to the router but be doing different things and getting different info. If a switch were to be placed all the computers would get the same info.

And when would I use a router instead of a switch or vice versa?

Nick

Routers are used to take in information and forward it to a specific IP while a switch simply passes along information arbitrarily. Which would explain why on my home's wirless router, up to 4 computers can be connected to the router but be doing different things and getting different info. If a switch were to be placed all the computers would get the same info.
Almost, but not quite. Are you familiar with the OSI 7 layer model? A router is essentially there to connect more than one network together, it works on the network layer of the 7 layer model and hence acts as a gateway between different networks.

In contrast to this, a switch works on the data link layer, so it can't route between networks. It can however look inside packets and forward them on to only where they need to go within the same network, it doesn't just pass it on arbitrarily to all the ports it has. That would be what a hub does (or an unmanaged switch, which is basically just a glorified hub) it just copies all the data it receives to all of the other ports. It sounds like your view of a router is actually what a switch does, and your view of a switch is what a hub does :)