duel 4GB RAM?

tha17

Baseband Member
i have 2 GB RAM already in my computer...here are the specs.

Manufacturer:
Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
Processor:
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU 6420 @ 2.13GHz (2 CPUs)
Memory:
2046MB RAM
Hard Drive:
250 GB
Video Card:
NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS
Sound Card:
Realtek HD Audio output
Operating System:
Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 3 (2600.xpsp_sp3_gdr.090206-1234)
Motherboard:
Gigabyte

i want to put 2 more GB of ram into my computer.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231098&Tpk=f2-6400cl5d-2gbnq

that is the exact same ram i have currently inside my computer.

also here is my motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128017R

so...
Would this be a good upgrade?
is everything compatible?
when i install the 2 GB of ram...do i just plug them into the slots and turn the computer on?????

as u can see i have never done duel memory before :p

PLEASE
give ur opinions and thanks in advanced for ALL your guys help!

Before doing ANYTHING go to Start Panel go to "Run" and type in sysdm.cpl and click ok. See what it says if it says Home Edition x64 the RAM will be useful if it just says Home Edition it won't read 4 gigs of RAM so you're wasting money.
Another way is control panel and then system.

You turn off the power, pop off the case and you put it in until you hear that clicking sound where the two "Holders" go into place.
You then fire her up and a screen will pop up saying "Memory detected, 2 gigabytes, total 4 gigabytes" or around those lines. And now you are good to go.

You should be fine as long as you have the 64-bit version of XP. I just bought that same set (I also already have that set) to make 4gb. If you don't have the 64-bit version of XP, it will only read 3.2 gb (or something like that).

you also could make a ram disk from the ram that is not accessed by the 32bit OS and make your pagesys and IE cache run from it.