Hello ComputerForums!

dzyubin

Baseband Member
Hello ComputerForums! I just joined this forum because my computer exprience isn't enough to help out with some things, I looked over and saw a great community with great support. I like to tell a little about my self, well I am John and I always had interest in tweaking with computers. I've had some what experience in building and fixing my computer over the years.

Well now I got couple of questions.

I got my Sony Vaio Pc back in 2004-05, because I needed a good Pc with somewhat RAM to do buisness and some gaming, right away before buying I got 1Gb of Ram and a GPU which is well was a powerful card back then NVidia GeForce 6600.

My Computer Specs are

Processor or CPY: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz (2 CPU's)
1gb of RAM or (1022MB)
My Vaio Pc model is VGC-RB30
I got Widows XP.

Well my questions are

I got more free time now, so I am planning to "upgrade" my PC to little more powerful machine or might as well build a new one.

I looked over new game titles while I was in the store and I was shocked that my specs are near close enough to run most modern games. I mean wow it's been what 3 years :cool:.

So you guys think I should build a new PC with brand new details or just upgrade my machine?

Opinion #1 Upgrade.

What Video card should I get ?
I know I need more RAM then 1gb at least 2 or maybe i go up to 4.

Option #2 is just to build my own.

Good Ideas good hardware not super expensive please.

Thank you.

Sincerely, John.

I say build a new one.

What is your budget?

The Phenom 2's are an excellent deal for budget machines, but I'm an AMD die-hard. Core 2 quads are also excellent but cost a bit more.

Also, do you have any brand preferences?

I say build a new one.

What is your budget?

The Phenom 2's are an excellent deal for budget machines, but I'm an AMD die-hard. Core 2 quads are also excellent but cost a bit more.

Also, do you have any brand preferences?