new budget computer

Air

In Runtime
i'm a noob and i'm gonna ask for some help. i want to build a simple computer for simple office stuff and emails. i have read many other threads on building computers and processors, but i just can't make up my mind on what to get. intel or amd? processor speed? i just need the help of a couple experienced people to guide me in the right direction. help is very appreciated. thanks.

EDIT: btw i can spend like $500, but im looking to go cheap and simple
EDIT: while im siting here i'll give you some backround. the computer is actually for my mom, so the most powerful things it will be doing will probably be sending an email or watching a youtube video. her old computer is like a 2001 sony vaio with a pentium 4 (don't know the specs), the only reason she wants a new one is because its so slow; it takes like 10 to 15 minutes to boot and like 10 to open microsoft word.

thanks for the input.

i'm almost wondering if i should just get a netbook.

i'm a noob and i'm gonna ask for some help. i want to build a simple computer for simple office stuff and emails. i have read many other threads on building computers and processors, but i just can't make up my mind on what to get. intel or amd? processor speed? i just need the help of a couple experienced people to guide me in the right direction. help is very appreciated. thanks.

ok first you had to do is to think what is your computer is for.....or what would be the main function of your computer (is it for gaming or just for office or some sort of engineering/video editing stuff)

AMD processor is designed for gaming while Intel is designed for both..
i wouldn't tell you the brands but u need to consider most is the specs of the PC ur gonna buy....

you should check this site i think it would help....

http://www.thetechlounge.com/article/317/HighEnd-DIY-Computer-Buyers-Guide/