I want to remotley log into server from my pc

jjimenez101

Solid State Member
Hello all,

I am having a bit of a problem. I am a student at my local university, and as part of one of my courses, we are required to perform our labs from home by remotley log in to the university's servers and use the lab software available there.

Before, on my old computer, I had windows XP and I downloaded Xming and Putty and used those two programs to remotely log in with out any real problems. I now have a new computer with windows Vista 64 bit, and I went ahead and downloaded the same two programs again. But I have not yet been able to access the software program for my lab from this computer. I get some error message like:

X connection to localhost: 10.0 broken (explicit kill or server shut down)

I have no Idea what that means. Is it a problem that I am using windows Vista 64 bit rather than windows XP?

Please advise. Thanks in advance..

Hello,

Actually, I think those links would be helpful if I were trying to connect to another desktop PC that is running windows.

In my case, I am trying to remotely log in to a server that is running Linux..

...I am having a bit of a problem. I am a student at my local university, and as part of one of my courses, we are required to perform our labs from home by remotley log in to the university's servers and use the lab software available there...

Just a thought...

I know this isn't really that helpful, but I would check with the university's system administrator or IT department. They probably have to deal with this kind of problem all the time and should be able to get you squared away.

If you have to log into a linux computer there are a couple of options. If you need to be able to see what is on the desktop then you will want to use VNC. If you don't need the desktop and know your way around a teminal using commands then you can SSH into the computer and run everything from terminal.

Cheers!