At work computer Legal Question

Accentrix

Beta member
I apologize in advance as I know this is a bit off topic.

I work as an administrative assistant to the president for a mid-size Engineering firm. I am on vacation and I have given my AD credentials to my co-worker (Kate) and another co-worker (Steph) in my absence. Kate is the primary user in my absence, and Steph would take Kates place in the event that Kate and I be absent.

Kate left for lunch and left and did not lock the computer. So Steph took it upon her self to look through personal e-mails (sent to & from my company e-mail account) and forward every single one of them to her personal e-mail account for whatever purposes.

Is there anything I can do? ( I know technically I should not be sending e-mails from my company account)

I am no lawyer mind you, but I believe all email that you send and received from an employer's computer is subject to their scrutiny. So, as I understand it, any personal email sent or received from your computer at work is no longer private. (Not that email is very private to begin with. If you wouldn't write it on a post card, you shouldn't put it in an email, unless it is encrypted.) That is why I would recommend never using a work computer for personal email. As far as a co-worker access, as long as they were authorized to use the computer and computer account, I don't see that there is a lot you can do. You might confront her about it.

[edit]

Vampist brings up a good point. If any of the emails were work related then she may have been violating company policy.

I apologize in advance as I know this is a bit off topic.

I work as an administrative assistant to the president for a mid-size Engineering firm. I am on vacation and I have given my AD credentials to my co-worker (Kate) and another co-worker (Steph) in my absence. Kate is the primary user in my absence, and Steph would take Kates place in the should Kate and I be absent.