Explorer failing and closing down repeatedly

cbachinger

In Runtime
I am getting worried about my 5 year old HP Compaq nx7010.

From time to time, while in windows explorer, there is an error and the window has to close. Now it does so more often; even as i open it after a few seconds! Why and what could the problem be?

I have scan disked it twice in a week, which i have never done before but the problem persists.

I happen to be accessing my portable HD when this happens and i also scan disked it, with no change. It is not old (<2 years) but i bought it in china and hope it is not causing problems.

Any 5yr. old system still seeing the original Windows installation is long overdue for a drive wipe and brand new clean install of Windows in order to solve any number of problems within Windows itself. Plus you have to look at things like wear and tear on all hardwares including possible memory faults.

Is the portable drive connected through a usb port? You may see that corrected by simply plugging it into a different port. Or Windows usb controller problems are now being seen where again a fresh copy of Windows may be needed.

A drive wipe can be a simple reformat of the present primary partition in order to clean things up for a fresh install of Windows. Or you decide to restructure the partitioning for let's say seeing a second storage partition or dual boot with another OS.

At some point you may find it easier to simply delete the one primary and see two new created 1=OS host/boot 1=storage or two separate operating systems sharing one drive. Should you end up with a virus of some type corrupting files as it spreads into everything then you would consider everything on the drive lost to avoid any reinfection by wiping the drive in that sense.