Graphics Cards Memory

ssc456

Fully Optimized
hi,

whenever i have posted a thread concerning a pc build and graphics card i have always said i am no expert on graphics cards perhaps you can help me have a little more knoledge,

here what the main thing is im buildin a pc for a m8 of mine and he dont do no extreme gaming just goes on second life alot.

but as far as my knoledge goes which is not alot i judge a graphics card by how much memory its got which confuses me ?

coz alot of graphics cards i c say 256Mb memory supporting 512Mb wot does this mean whats the actual memory of that graphics card ?

and what is the better way to judge how good a graphics card is ?

thanks

Can you post a link to the graphics cards?

You usually want to compare the memory of the card and the speed of the card. You probably want to shoot for around a GeForce 6200 if he isn't doing intense gaming. They are pretty cheap.

It mite be saying that because it uses your system RAM.

Like my old geforce 6200 used 256 of my system ram so maybe the card itself has X amount and can use X amount of the Computers RAM.

Probably wrong but just a thought.

I would advise getting a geforce 7600 there a sturdy card for £50-80 which won't fail you!

yh that was my theory that they had their own ram then used some of the computers

right well heres the 1 i was gonna buy

http://www.ebuyer.com/UK/product/117995

but i generally wanted to know a bit more bout graphics cards for future reference

here is another example http://www.ebuyer.com/UK/product/119117

says 128Mb supporting 512 MB so technically is there n e difference in the 2 cards ? im sure there is but i dunno

how do i tell how good a graphics card is in very simple terms lol