Lapping a heatsink and CPU

PokerDegenerate

Daemon Poster
OK so I have been doing a lot of research on lapping. I have never done it before (obviously or I wouldn't be doing research right) I am seeing a HUGE difference in cooling results. I am wondering though is there really anyway I could screw up my processor doing this? As long as I just use a flat glass surface and the correct sandpaper all should be fine right?

Also this is obviously going to void my warranty I am assuming as well with my CPU so any suggestions on whether I should just hold of on CPU and just go for HSF for now and just take those results and be happy. I just feel that with the results I am seeing other people get from this I really wanna give it a shot. I have an extra stock AMD heatsink laying around that I am going to give it a shot on for a test just to see some results but I don't have an extra CPU to give it a shot on but I am just scared that as soon as I do it something is going to go wrong (not necessarily with the lapping) but with the CPU and I am going to be pissed for voiding the warranty on it.

Any suggestions from those that have done it?

Also any pointers from those who have done it?

It's very satisfactory once it's done. Although it does require patience, you'll want to do the CPU once you've done the HSF.

Get a slab of glass, and I think I used 400, 600, 800 and 1000 grit, I tape the sand paper down so it doesn't move around.

Do not do figures of eight, it will be hard to apply even pressure. Do not put too much pressure on the CPU/HSF, just light, even pressure with your hand.