First Time Getting a Computer

Kieth8

Beta member
This is my first time getting a computer:) . My parents have said that they will get me one if it's around $700(give or take a $100). I was wondering if you guys could help me decide on where to get it from and what to get. It needs to have monitor with it, although this can be ordered seperatly(doesn't need an amazing monitor, I will upgrade that first). Also, I can't build it. Here are some other things:

Processor:I am leaning toward the AMD Phenom triple core, due to its price, newness, performance, and DDR3 memory. I will most likely stick with it, unless there is an super amazing one for the same price or lower.
Video card: Need some help here(there are so many!), I want one that will be able to play Age of Empires at very good setting, Spore at very good settings, Left 4 Dead at reasonable to very good settings, Fallout 3 at reasonable(or very good, if possible) settings, and new RTS(real time strategy games) and other new games at reasonable settings. I don't know if this is possible but it is what I'm hoping for. I have no preference on what company.
MotherBoard and RAM: I have a couple questions on this, I know that the Phenoms don't get that big of boost from haveing DDR3, but I want a motherboard(is that what MOBO stands for) that supports DDR3, so I am wondering this: do motherboards that support DDR3 also support DDR2 memory? If they do, do both types work as good as they normally work? If there is a motherboard that supports both, I am not against getting DDR2 at first and upgrading to DDR3 when I feel I need it. If motherboards support only one type of memory, then I would like a DDR3 motherboard. I think that 4 GB of RAM would be sufficient.
Moniter: No preference, really. I can get a better one when I get more money.
Case: Want one that has room for expansion, looks good, cools good, and isn't that expensive.
Mouse and Keyboard: No preference.
Power Supply: Looking at a 600 watt corsair.