To build or not to build.

I also have a kinda unrelated question, and I admit it sounds kinda stupid now that I think of it, but like I said, I am no expert... But My internet is DSL, so if I were to get a modem and hook it up through the phone line in another room of my home as my Original Desktop that is currently hooked up to the DSL, would I be able to use the DSL there as well through the phone line, or would I have to do something a bit more complicated. Thanks for humoring me =X.

not sure about that but if you have DSL you should already have a modem or a router, if you have a router and your other computer has an ethernet port, just buy an ethernet cable and plug one end into the router and the other into the other pc and you'll get a connection

Well, I have a router, and a modem and all, and I would hook it up via an ethernet cord, but it will be on the second floor, and the existing modem is on the first floor.

As Techmaster alluded to, you'll need either another modem or a router to connect another PC to your DSL. You can't just plug a "phone line" into your computer to access the internet. I'm not sure if your DSL service will allow a second modem hook-up, but a wireless router would be a wise investment. That way you can access the internet connection from any room in the house with a computer or laptop that has a wireless adaptor.

hmmm im no expert in that area, but they do sell long ethernet cables, it just sucks to have a cable going all the way upstairs. My 360 and other computer are in seperate rooms, all have an ethernet cable leading from my router, but i live in florida so its rare to see houses with a second floor.