To build or not to build.

GKil164

In Runtime
Hey, as you can see, I am very new to these forums, so I would like to say Hi first of all.

Now, I have been in the market for a new computer recently, my current laptop is working fine, but I have decided it is time for an upgrade. I am looking mainly for a desktop, and have in the past mainly stuck with Dell (this is my 3rd dell computer), but I recently started looking at Alienware more. I will be doing a bit of gaming, so it seemed pretty logical for me, and my budget would be anywhere close to $2,500. However, after looking around a bit, I saw most people saying it would be better to custom build your own computer. Now here is my only problem with that;
I have no extreme knowledge on how to build a computer, and pretty limited knowledge on the hardware in a computer. So, I wouldn't be too pleased if I went forth and spent money on the parts only too find myself in the deep end.
So, should I play it safe and just buy an alienware, or attempt to build a computer myself?

Thanks,
Keith

There are plenty of guides to teach you how to build a computer step by step. Putting parts together isn't too hard. You see what matches what and attach the pieces nice and easy. As far as the cable goes, the motherboard manual should be able to instruct you on how to connect them. The biggest advice I can give you is to be patient.

As far as the shopping for parts and troubleshooting go, we're here for that. Just post what games you will be looking to play and whether you want to max out your budget or just build a high end computer while keeping under the budget. Also tell us whether you need just a tower or peripherals.

Hey, as you can see, I am very new to these forums, so I would like to say Hi first of all.