Dell Inspiron 6400 problems - anyone got any ideas?

straygoat

Beta member
Hello all.

I'm a newbie here and not that PC-savvy (but know enough to get by most of the time) so please take it easy on me.

Here's my problem(s):

I have a Dell Inspiron 6400 laptop. For a while now, it has been playing up when shutting down...sometimes it does, sometimes it doesn't. But for the most part, it shuts down correctly.

Last week the laptop started to go mental. The first sign of trouble was when I ran Itunes and connected my Ipod - this seemed to kill all the USB ports on my computer. After many hours of aggro, I managed to uninstall Itunes and stop the Itunes service which seemed to fix the USB ports. Rather foolishly, I went to Apple.com to install the latest Itunes (Itunes 8...can't remember the version no. offhand) and that's when the problems really seemed to start - Itunes installed but said the library file was corrupted and so I lost all my playlists (not my music though). At around the same time, the computer became incredibly slow and McAfee started to say it needed an update.

I tried to update McAfee but it wouldn't complete the installation properly. I tried to uninstall Itunes, but it wouldn't uninstall properly. I restarted the computer and it booted with a 'Volume is dirty' message. When Windows did start, I got a warning about low virtual memory (I have since set the virtual memory to be managed by the system which seems to have solved this). I also needed a Windows update that wouldn't install.