A New Build...kinda

dorfman

In Runtime
I have a HP Pavilion A1590n

Now, instead of getting a new pc with VISTA..

I've just considered, getting a new mother board, and processor, and maybe some more ram. So it would be like a new computer.

I've already installed a Antec PSU, and a Nvidia 7950GT video card.

Basically I just want a better processor.

So my question is this, would it be possible to just take the mother board out of this rig, switch with a new one and a processor, hook everything back up and it run fine? What would I have to do?

I have XP on my hdd and I was just going to plug in the hard drive to the new Mother Board, would that work?

Any wisdom would be greatly welcomed. I'm a noob to building computers.

Check to make sure a new motherboard will fit in, when I wanted to upgrade my old HP, I had to get a new box as the HP box was way too small. New boxes are cheap as anyway.
You would have to re-install XP again with a new motherboard.

Because the motherboard would be totally different on specs and drivers, unless you get the same motherboard , just the way it is mate unfortunately.

Dont think you can with just the partition on the hard drive, you would have to get a XP cd and install from that, as far as I am aware, someone else here might have a way of doing it.

So my question is this, would it be possible to just take the mother board out of this rig, switch with a new one and a processor, hook everything back up and it run fine? What would I have to do?
Like T-MAN said, pre-builts often use uATX cases, which are too small for a standard ATX motherboard. Just check the dimensions of your motherboard try before hand.
I have XP on my hdd and I was just going to plug in the hard drive to the new Mother Board, would that work?