File recovery possible?

Bob94571

In Runtime
Ok so here's the deal, My GF's dads computer was going real slow for him and he had some kind of virus that I spent a bunch of time trying to remove with no success. I told him I would reformat it for him and save the pictures and stuff that were on there.

I saved his "My Pictures" folder which had his Koday Easy share pictures in as well, another HDD and reformatted. When I went to put the pictures back on it only the folders copied and not the pictures in them. I dont know how in the HELL this happened and I feel horrible.

Would it be possible to use a file recovery program to get this pictures back. I did a full reformat not a quick one.

If I can, what is a good program to use, I have never used one before. Thanks

Running it now, I hope to god it works, ill feel so bad if it doesn't.

Ill tell u how it works out

Thanks for the quick reply btw

Somebody posted another file recovery software on here a while back that also works really well. Unfortunately, I do not remember what it was called.

A quick search and presto!

GetDataBack and Recover My Files. The only drawback with those are they are not free.

I can say that GetDataBack definitely works. I was recently able to recover songs off of a little 2GB MP3 player after it was quickly formatted.

Well, i tried the free one first and I did find all the pictures, however most of them are corrupted. Like the thumbnail looks good on some and when I open it, half the picture is just gray. On the others, the thumbnail shows the gray on it, and about 5-10% are good

Edit
trying Recover My Files now

Edit part deux
The recover my files seems to be working 20x better... I am finding alot more pictures and the previews look like they are perfect. I wont know for sure till the scan finishes and I get them resaved, but I think this is working alot better to at least get back the majority of them.