Overclocking

PokerDegenerate

Daemon Poster
OK so I am a beginner to computers and am trying to learn as much as possible about them.. So my newest question is about overclocking...From what I understand overclocking is getting your computer components to run faster then they are set for by the manufacturer. Does this increase total usage of your computer or is it more specific to certain areas such as gaming and or programs for like graphic design or editing movie clips and such? I mean i understand its making your computer faster but is it really noticeable in everyday operations or are the risks not worth the reward?

In most cases the difference is noticeable, i tweaked my dual 2.66ghz cpu up to 3ghz with the stock fan and then just increased the speed of the fan a little. I saw a nice increase in the speed of the PC and mainly it's the thought that i can push my programs that little bit further now.

I also OC'ed my GPU and say a better fps on my games.

I'd say when done right it'll certainly be beneficial and as far as doing it right goes, there's loads of help to get it done on here.

Overclocking are mainly for gamers and bragging rights, such as "i OCed my CPU to 4Ghz!" to someone that cant get past 3.5Ghz, and some just compare.

It speeds up your system, but you wont see much improvements for everyday use, while it helps quite a lot with gaming, though it depends on the game also since some are GPU intensive, while the other are CPU intensive.

The effects of OC takes a really long time before taking into effect, and most would have got a new computer/build by then. Unless you raised your Volts higher than recommended (CPU).
You cant really raise the volts on a graphics card, you can, but i dont know how, but if you OC the card too high, you will start seeing artifacts such as random spots appearing at places where there shouldnt be when playing a game.
Of course, the more you OC, the hotter the parts run, especially if you raise the volts.