Which gets your further with tech support? Angriness or Kindness?

it depends if i can understand who im talking to, how serious my problem is, how much was the product in the first place ,and how much it will cost to replace

but generally i try to be nice and calm, and save my wrath for telemarketers

hmmm... well as I work in tech support I can say the following...

What will get you furthest is being calm and polite.
Second thing that'll get you furthest is being knowledgeable, (though not a smart arse).
Being concise about your problem and the things that you'd done to try to fix it do get you quite far, but in general saying things like I've already done that don't get you that far, it might be that you've already done that, but trying it again won't hurt, it might be that you've done something like that but not done it quite like how they'd really like.

and HP support is shit. a little while ago I decided to forgo the phone call and use their live support that is a web chat program.
I knew what I wanted to do was possible,
but they told me that it wasn't possible.
since then I've figured out how to do it myself, (with the help of their documentation on their site) so it's not like HP as a company don't know. just their tech support doesn't know.

tbh I think you should be nice to start, and if more problems come up, i get more angry.