Java help

Blackjack wouldn't be too hard, that's a pretty good idea. Use arrays for the cards, write the program using methods, and throw in some while or for loops and you have a decent program using a bunch of concepts.

Yeah, assuming you've used arrays before this should be very easy. Use dual arrays so you have the card in one part of the array, and a boolean for weather ro not it was delt so you don't get duplicate cards.

Out of curiosity, what compiler are you using?

How's the Black Jack game working? I was on the brink of creating a better version of FreeCell today...then I started playing it.

I got a small start on it. What's slowing me down is that I am learning Java while I'm writing the program. I really wish I could just write it in C++ (but my prof says no). I haven't touched the program since Wednesday. I've just been busy with other things.

Blackjack wouldn't be too hard, that's a pretty good idea. Use arrays for the cards, write the program using methods, and throw in some while or for loops and you have a decent program using a bunch of concepts.

Thanks, I'm liking it so far. I'm starting to see a few of the challenges involved but I should hopefully be able to work around them.

Yeah, assuming you've used arrays before this should be very easy. Use dual arrays so you have the card in one part of the array, and a boolean for weather ro not it was delt so you don't get duplicate cards.

Out of curiosity, what compiler are you using?

when you say dual arrays are you speaking of 2-dimensional arrays or 2 separate regular arrays?

I'm using Java JDK 6 as my compiler.

you say dual arrays are you speaking of 2-dimensional arrays or 2 separate regular arrays?

I think he means a 2 dimensional array. I hate dealing with those. See if you can make a class and have an single dimensional array that uses a variable defined by that class. I could prove more effective if you need to associate more things with each card.