Data Replication

Dsrt

Baseband Member
Ok, some background real quick.

We are running Dell PowerEdge Servers with Windows Server 2003 Standard which houses our main oracle database. We just purchased a NetApp storage facility so we can replicate the data for disaster recovery.

I have the LUNS set up pointing to each server, but what I'm lacking is the software needed to replicate the data from the server to the NetApp product. I'm not sure what type of software I should actually be looking for, so some cheaper brand names would be very helpful.

I am very new to SAN/NAS technology so I'm not completely sure I have it set up correctly.

If there's anyone willing to spend a little bit of time with me to make sure this is working as it should, that would be great.

Thanks ahead of time.

Symantec Backup Exec (BE) with an Oracle Agent license(s). Basically you install BE on your SAN/NAS and then tell it to install the Oracle Agent License to your Dell Servers with Oracle DB. Another nice thing about it is that as you add more servers you can just purchase a license for that particular server. I.E. Exchange, PHP, Linux, Windows (file server) ... you can even configure it to backup Active Directory if you're using it in your Windows Environment. You won't need to purchase the main core Backup Exec ... just individual server licenses for that particular server role.

I know you said you were looking for cheaper brands ... Symantec isn't exactly cheap/free, but relatively inexpensive for a business. Around $700 for BE and I think around $250 per agent license.

There certainly are other software options available, I just don't have any experience with them ... or have not had any luck with other backup software.

I know this sounds like I'm pitching them, but Symantec has a suite of options for backing up data. Software that takes "snapshots" of your data throughout the workday ... as often as you specify.