No Sound after installing new Ethernet Card

Bee117

Beta member
Back story:

My house (and in turn) computer was struck by lightning. The why my computer was on, isn't the point, it happened over a year ago. My internet at school was fine, no disconnecting etc. When I graduated and came home this summer, it started acting up horribly. Lots of kicking off. Several friends recommended that I just buy a new PCI ethernet card. Simple and cheap fix and now everything with that is dandy.

Now:

My sound does not work. My original Sound Blaster Audigy 2 (I am on a 3.5 year old computer) stopped showing up in the Device Manager entirely. I noticed my sound "device" was the Realtek AC97 onboard sound.

Here's a list of what I've tried thus far:

1. turned off computer and checked connection of said card, it was loose, secured card in slot, checked all connections to card. Turned on computer, card is still not recognized.
2. Have checked BIOS settings and onboard sound is disabled. It was on auto, I just plain turned it off. No luck.
3. Have tried disabling new ethernet card, still no luck.

After this, I have generally assumed that my card is just plain broken if the computer is still not recognizing it whatsoever. I buy a Sound Blaster Audigy SE. I installed the new card, computer recognizes it, drivers all installed and updated. Device manager and SiSandra all say it's working great. I still do not have any sound. Now a new issue is that, and I do not know if these are related or merely coincidences, itunes will not play, winamp will not play, youtube does not play. I've yet to try anything else to play sound at the moment.

I am restarting my computer in between trying different settings. I know that can affect changes with new installations etc.