Hosted Exchange

colorblindjimbo

In Runtime
I am an intern at an IT department, and we are looking at Outsourcing our e-mail to a Hosted Exchange Service. I know what exchange is, but I am looking for some more information regarding this technology. Some of the information I am looking for are as follows:

1. Where are they located? Do companies house their own datacenters, or are they simply middle man and many companies use the same datacenter?
2. Has anybody used them? Are there any pitfalls to them? IE: slow retrieval time of e-mails
3. Any information, or sources of information that can help me.

Please no advertisers here. That is why I am posting here and not in the Hosting Section, as most of the people there are advertisers.

I've not got experience but I have looked into this before.

1, usually data centres, most likely using rented space in a public data centre. I'd imagine only companies like 1&1 or rackspace would be offering the service with the machines hosted in their own private data centres.

2, not used them as I said, retrieving mail will always be slower at a remote location compared to onsite over a fast lan, but it's not stupidly slow.
whilst our mail servers at the company I work for aren't outsources, the mail servers are in a datacentre off site, access is quite speedy, regardless of whether it's in the office or working from home. you'd generally find the same.

3, unfortunalty not.

one thing I would add to the pitfalls is that this can be quite expensive, usually hosted exchange service is charged on a per mailbox basis, so if you want the bonuses of fire controlled environment fast links temperature controled environment then you should look at the cost in doing it yourself, server+exchange+rackspace.
or possibly even renting a dedicated server that runs windows so you can do what you like on it, (in this case they'll likely sort out backups for you as well!).