the future

bdsmileys

Solid State Member
i have only one goal, to be working with computer for a living when i get older( im 17 years old now ).

i have been talking with my dad and he says theres no way i can.

right now im a computer repair tech. i work with my boss repair towers and laptops.

i wish to do some type of repair or design for a living. if im not repairing them then i want to design new boards and cases ( and if all else fails, being a 3d level designer ).

he says that there will not be any more towers or cards, infact everything will beintergated chips on a mother board.

the computers themself will be so worthless thou that you can buy them for under $100. he says that they wont need to be repaired because of the fact that there so cheap.

if this is all so, what should i do, i want to work with computers. what do you think i would be best qualified for?

Don't listen to your dad. He doesn't know a thing about how computers will be in the future.

You can do what you want with your own life, and don't let anyone else tell you different.

Don't listen to your dad. He doesn't know a thing about how computers will be in the future.

You can do what you want with your own life, and don't let anyone else tell you different.

I agree with you.

dude, he is thinking like 2500, not 2015. Go for it. People will still need this stuff. in fact, designing computer parts and stuff would be a great job. you get to play with computer, and you would make a CRAP load of money. I bet if you designed the chips used in comps for a living for intel/amd/ati/nvidia you would star really close to 6 figures

For the average consumer, he may be right. Everything people need will (and already is) integrated into motherboards. However gamers, or any other kind of media enthusiast will ALWAYS prefer the extra performance/quality of a add-on card.