HELP THIS NEWB - I need a serious upgrade!

Sanzee

Beta member
My computer is very outdated in terms of everything. I've finally got money to upgrade. I've learned a bit about hardware, but I'm still a newb when it comes to this. I need some advice! My computer is old as hell:

MY CURRENT COMPUTER SPECS
» Intel Celeron 320 CPU [2.40GHz]
--- 133 MHz Bus Speed
--- 256 KB L2 Cache
» Intel 82845G Graphics Controller (GPU)
» 512MB RAM
» 40GB Hard Drive (Ouch)
» Windows XP Professional SP3
-----------------------------------------

Below are my (minimum) expectations:

»» I want a good processor but not anything extreme. I'm thinking that the Core 2 Duo will be powerful enough but would the Pentium Dual Core work too? I want it to last me a while and have the capabilities to handle most tasks. I know theres variations of each processor, but I don't know what to get.

»» I plan to play PC Games but not anything like Crysis. I don't need or want the most powerful GPU, but I want at the least, a descent GPU to handle avg. games and GFX design.

»» RAM is important to me. Obviously I'd get 4GB if I could but I don't have the money. Would 2GB be enough for my computer to keep up with most modern S/W and tasks?

»» At the very least, 200 GB of hardrive space, possibly more. No need for above 500.

»» I'm debating on getting Vista. I know I'll need at least 1GB RAM but with 2GB, will my computer still be fast with Vista? I've heard to stay with XP. Any advice on this?

»» My price range is between $400 and $700 dollars.

Anyways, sorry this is so damn long. If any of you have suggestions or advice, reply and fill me in. Or you can email me at dannysainsbury@live.com

Thanks again fellas.

~ Sanzee

You are probably gonna have to go all out and build your own PC. That thing is way too old for modern parts. The Celeron 320 is a Socket 478, and I think those have been discontinued. I don't think your current PC is worth upgrading.